Apple TV

March 23, 2007

Apple TV is shipping or about to ship and it looks like the major reviews hit the web today. Check out The NY Times, The Wall Street Journal, and PC Magazine for their full reviews.

This is big news for a category of devices I think of as Home Theater PCs. The two major players in this category, the XBox 360 and now Apple TV, are not very PC-like but that is as it should be.

I do not have cable TV and I’ve been dabbling with various devices to allow me to play DVDs, music, podcasts, and vodcasts (video podcasts) on my home theater system.  I use iTunes with an iPod Nano to subscribe, download, and listen to podcasts in my car and at home. I subscribe to Napster which allows me to download as much music as I want for a flat monthly rate and play it on PCs, devices hooked up to my home theater system, and mobile devices that support the Windows “Plays forSure” DRM mechanism. I use three PCs on a daily basis, my work laptop, a PC on a desk in my kitchen that is on all the time, and a Windows Media Center PC in a home office is that is normally in stand-by mode until I need to use it. I use the previously mentioned iPod Nano and a Dell Pocket DJ. I currently have an XBox 360, regular DVD player, and an iPod dock hooked up to my home theater system. My first attempt at “the perfect device” was a Buffalo Link Theater which should have been all I needed but the execution was so bad that it currently is not even attached to anything. So close yet oh so far.

So I think I will start a series of posts describing how I use all this stuff and the lessons learned along the way. Stay tuned :-)

2 Responses to “Apple TV”

  1. das L Says:

    sad thing about the appLe tv system is that it shouLd be perfectLy abLe to be used with mac osx, but so far it’s Locked down.


  2. […] Entertainment Ecosystem: iPod Nano In my post on Apple TV I mentioned that I will make a series of posts describing the tools I use to watch/listen to […]


Comments are closed.