Tom vs. The Long Tail

February 19, 2007

longtail_blog.jpg

Tom Slee is determined to give Chris Anderson’s book “The Long Tail” a thorough thrashing. The book is an extended version of a Wired Magazine article by Chris Anderson. I have read both the book (sometime ago) and the original article and I think the article succinctly lays out the idea behind The Long Tail. Unless you need a program to follow the play-by-play of Tom’s critique, the book is not required reading.

Tom is taking apart the book chapter by chapter. His latest post is a critique of chapter 1 but he started off by laying out his biases, ripping the cover (metaphorically), and booing the Introduction.

This is a fun game…. I like it :-)

One Response to “Tom vs. The Long Tail”

  1. tom s. Says:

    Thanks for the link Steve. I’m enjoying doing this project. It is a page-by-page go at it, so as standalone reading I don’t think it is a lot of fun, but I hope it is useful. The book (and the idea) seem to me seductive but false, and this is the only way I can think of to effectively debunk them.


Comments are closed.