Optical Molasses

February 10, 2007

water_1235.jpg

CBC Radio’s Quirks and Quarks has a fantastic podcast called Stopping Light. Researcher Dr. Lene Vestergaard Hau, a professor of physics at Harvard University, discusses slowing down light to 20 km/h (yes that is correct) by sending it through an optical molasses.

The research may lead to breakthroughs in quantum computing. Very cool. Listen to the podcast by clicking the player below.

OH, my image representing an “optical molasses” is the reflection of autumn colors in water.

3 Responses to “Optical Molasses”

  1. tom s. Says:

    Very cool indeed. But as to quantum computing, I’m terminally sceptical. See here.

  2. RAD Says:

    Well quoting Delmar in the movie “O Brother Where Art Thou”:

    “I’m with you fellars”

    I too have a soft spot for Hamiltonians. There is something special about the people that live in a steel town ;-)

    Oh, Hamilton has great water falls too. If I post any of my Hamilton waterfall photos I promise to write about Hamiltonians and Quantum Computing.

  3. Robin Parmar Says:

    “Quirks and Quarks” is so Canadian. I remember hearing that exact show when I lived there. *sigh*


Comments are closed.