Abstract Expressionism

February 3, 2007

abstractexpressionism_blog.jpg

I haven’t seen the movie “Pollock” about American painter Jackson Pollock who was known for “abstract expressionism” or “action painting”. I will probably watch it on DVD some day. I like to take abstract photographs. I think they look cool. A sort of action painting with light.

It would be presumptuous to call my abstract images expressionism though. I’m more surprised than anyone when some of my abstract shots turn out well. Is that expressionism? I recognize the conditions that may lead to a good abstract image but I don’t have a clue what it will look like. Every shot is a surprise. Can a glimmer of hope be construed as expressive?

Regardless of my emotional state when I pressed the shutter or whether mercury was in retrograde at the time, there is an aesthetic to this image that is captivating yet elusive. I wish I could put my finger on why.

2 Responses to “Abstract Expressionism”

  1. jeremy Says:

    I like this image! I too love to be surprised and the act of discovery in the process of both painting and phography…. keep it up!

  2. some random Says:

    This is a great photo… good to see something original !


Comments are closed.