Sunny Rodent Day

February 2, 2007

agouti_blog.jpg

I guess I should apologize for not having a photograph of a groundhog on Groundhog Day. I’m kicking myself too… I should have seized the many opportunities I have had to capture that perfect groundhog image. Instead, I ignorantly run out, arms flailing, yelling and screaming whenever I see “The Groundhog” munching on the purple cone flowers in my garden. Who knew.

Instead I present to you an Agouti. The locals, on the island of Roatan (Honduras), refer to it as a Watusi (presumably they are good dancers). The Agouti is a BIG rodent, not quite as big as the wobbly sack of intestines we call the Groundhog, but big enough. He hangs out on the beach, eats coconuts, and doesn’t give a hoot about his shadow. Can you blame him?

