Fascinating Video by An Autistic

January 27, 2007

The video “In My Language” is a fascinating window into the world of a woman with autism. The first three minutes show her interacting with her environment, humming, tapping, touching, in what she later describes as her language. In the final five minutes she appeals to us “typicals” to ummmmmmm….. smarten up I guess.

The more I learn about autism the more confused I get. After reading the book Mindblindness and related theories about the role of mirror neurons, I thought that social cognitive abilities, like group identity, should be underdeveloped in autistics. An autistic painter would not identify with other painters and she certainly would not care what other people thought of her paintings.

That would have been my conclusion if I observed or attempted to interact with the woman in the video. Give her a keyboard, however, and she writes an “autie” manifesto deriding the closed mindedness of the “typicals”. Sheesh, no problem with group identity there.

4 Responses to “Fascinating Video by An Autistic”


  1. On mindblindness, you might want to read this post about what researchers are really finding out about it these days.

  2. Driele Says:

    Bro . Pinnex Just got home from the trip and wanted to tell you thank you again for the optiutrnupy to be a part of the missions trip. My wife and I had our hearts touched for this difficult and unique mission field. We will defin itley be praying for you luke 18:1Love the Allens


  3. they HAVE to be such and such a way. I love seeing diversity in my media,, be it comic books, games, television, or movies, because I know there’s more to the human race than the so-called default setting of straight, white male, and it’s a shame that there isn’t more out there. I feel like I’m making a trap for myself here when I say this, and I’m trying to cover all my bases without having to be sent back to Straight White Privilege 101, or sound like an idiot, but it shouldn’t matter what a person’s orientation, religion, or ethnicity is anywhere, let alone a story. If a character is good, then people can relate to them no matter what their age, skin colour, or orientation is, and yet it feels like that argument is used over and over to thrust more and more straight white guys onto the audience.I love Jaime Reyes from Blue Beetle, and John Stewart is MY Green Lantern because they’re, at the core, good people. I admire Oracle for her intelligence, drive, bravery, and determination, an I’m envious of the BFF status that Terra and Power Girl had in Power Girl’s limited series because I wish I had a friend I could pal around with and just have fun. Sorry, I feel like I’m rambling and getting off topic a bit, but it’s just stuff I’ve noted over my years of reading the POV of other people, listening, and keeping my eyes open for BS. I was watching a little show on MTV called, I think, One Straight Woman and 5 Gay Guys, and it seems as though the questions asked were all these stereotypical questions about sex and who is hot and whatnot. I honestly don’t recall if there were any questions asked to the gay men that painted any kind of picture about the kind of people they were. On one hand, I was thinking about how they wouldn’t have this kind of show before, and that there are probably gay men who would like this kind of show, but on the other hand I kept on thinking about what other sorts of questions could be put forward to them.Of course, it was done by MTV, which is more of a lowest common denominator station than anything else.Again, sorry for rambling on, but this kind of thing where if you don’t fit a certain set of traits than you’re abnormal really tics me off, because it means that you have too twist yourself into something you’re not just to fit the bigger view of what makes what. And I can sorta relate to that in certain areas.

  4. Praveen Says:

    After study a few of the blogs inside your westbie now, and that i really like your own approach to running a blog. I bookmarked it in order to my save web site listing and will probably be looking at once again quickly. Please check out my web site because properly as well as let me know what you think.


Comments are closed.